Project Proposal – Connecting With Maths, Nature and Pattern

Review:

Now that I am going into my Final Major Project, I simply had to think about what interests me and look back at the work I have produced in my course so far. By establishing what I feel passionate about and basing the project on those passions, will help keep me motivated and enable my creative juices to flow more, as the project is going to be 18 weeks long, including holidays. Looking back, I found that the project that inspired me the most was the Design To Sell project. In the project, I was inspired a lot by artwork involving pattern, with the central focus on Paisley Patterns. I found that creating patterns filled me with a great sense of joy and enabled me to explore utilising shapes and forms found in nature in creative ways, turning out beautiful, imaginative pieces of organic inspired art. Furthermore, I was inspired also by mathematical art, using a mood board of fractal art as inspiration for my designs. I was truly amazed by the strong connection of maths, art and nature and how they merge with one another, forming something so dynamic and beautiful. One of the most inspiring artists were Victor Vasarely, who produced complex vivid art involving optical illusion and geometry, which I tried to explore in my origami sweet pot designs, in my “Design To Sell” project.

Concept:

To create a swatch book of different patterns that I design, themed on patterns in nature as well as animal print and floral designs. I can also go down the direction of connecting nature to maths, linking my FMP to the Innovation challenge, which I want to participate in. In order to establish this connection, I have to find sources of inspiration, that connect maths to nature and pattern. The best example and connection is the Fibonacci Sequence, which can be seen in plants and organic forms, from the centre of a flower to the pattern on a pine cone. It also could be seen when a red cabbage was cut in half. I will focus on creating Mood Boards, which each of them will be associated with their own sub category. Possible categories include Flowers, Fibonacci in Nature, Animal Patterns, Natural Wallpapers etc. Doing this swatch book will open the door for me to explore and research digital printing processes, including sophisticated processes like embossing. I will explore the work of artists like William Morris, looking at the techniques he used as well as gain inspiration from his highly detailed floral designs. Research will also be done on more contemporary print and textile designers, exploring their process and gain inspiration from their work. Other artists I would like to research are Fred Tomaselli, Yayoi Kusama and Sarah Morris. I can explore a wide range of print finishes, paper weights and textures. I aim for my swatch book to be of inspiration to home decorators, interior designers as well as fashion, textile and print students, which will be my target audience. Lastly, I want to look at doing a small synthesiser musical composition, inspired by nature and the Fibonacci sequence in the music, which was said to be used in the composition of the notes in Mozart’s music. During the track, I would like to create a composition of patterns and shapes that morph to the beats and baselines of the track. Furthermore, I would like to create an album cover for the track, involving pattern design. I want to learn how to use a synthesiser, for the track, but will also use the online music app, “Audio Tool” to complete the track. Adding this element to my project, will also enable me to tie in my passion for music. The connection between music, pattern design and colour is simply that they all can create a mood or atmosphere. Happy music and bright colours and patterns equals an uplifting mood.

Evaluation:

I will be self-assessing how well I connect “Maths, Nature and Pattern” together, reviewing the quality of my work, ensuring my outcomes are imaginative, original and inspiring. Artist research will also be assessed, making sure I successfully experiment with the styles of the artists I research, as well as ensure that my final outcome has a strong connection to the artist/artists, that inspired my work. The quality and finish of the swatch book will be judged, assessing that it is completed at a professional standard, that would be fit to be sold at stores like Waterstones, as well as home décor and improvement stores like Homebase and B&Q. I could also look at independent Interior Design Retailers/Boutique. Examples in Plymouth include, Interiors Hyde Park, Cornish Interiors and Nigel Mace Interiors.

Proposed Research – Harvard Referencing:

Leave a Reply

