Pitching Competition – Workshop

Related imageOn the Friday 17th March, at 2:00 pm, I had a workshop with Rebecca Baker in the Thinking Space. In this workshop, me and rest of the group were shown a presentation on how to pitch. Rebecca mentioned the positive things that should be done when pitching, but also the bad things that should not be done during a pitch, including irritating habits. When it comes to pitching, we should consider “Preparation”, “What We Ware”, “Practising Your Pitch”, “Creativity”, “Passion”, “Breathe” and “Eye Contact”. In a group discussion, we highlighted that people should have personality when they pitch and should engage with the audience. we also highlighted, that they should be confident and know their subject. There also should be the “Right Balance”, which includes things like your passion for the subject, the quantity of visual and information on the slides. For example, if a person shows know enthusiasm for the subject he is pitching, the audience will find the pitch dull and forget about it. On the other hand, if the person doing the pitch is over excite about the subject, the audience could find the pitch overwhelming. The same applies to the presentation, if there is too much info, colour and visuals in the slides, the audience will get distracted by the slides and will not be able to give their full and undivided attention. Whilst, a presentation that is sparse, with lack of info, visuals and creativity, will make the presentation dull.

A presentation, should not have any more than 3 – 4 slides, unless more visuals are needed to be shown. I have between 4 – 8 minutes to pitch to my audience, leaving me in this scenario 2 minutes maximum per slide. Furthermore, I have up to 15 minutes max in Question and Answer time. The most important thing is that my pitch outlines my goals and objectives, with the simple fact being that I am doing this competition to get that placement in the Internship, in The Agency. I must evidence my skills and my strengths, elaborating on them and backing them up with visuals of my work and my proposed plans, showing them what I am fully capable of. Another important thing to consider is to be myself, because if I try to be a person I’m not, I and my message could appear false and it could potential have a impact on my confidence. When I address the audience and pitch, I should adjust my vocabulary to suit the audience. If I am pitching to a audience/client/clients and speak as if I have swallowed a thesaurus, the audience/client/clients may not be able to comprehend what I said and may feel excluded from the conversation.

We had a group discussion on what we feel are things that we should not do when pitching, which included  bad habits like, nail biting, knuckle cracking, fidgeting and finger clicking, which are all things that can distract and irritate the audience. Other issues included stuttering, mumbling, waffling, speaking too fast, hammering the audience with technical terminology and using fillers like, “Um”, “Like” and “OK”.

Towards the end of the workshop, we had to review speeches from four famous people, bullet pointing both good and bad points in their speeches:

Barack Obama – Early Speeches For The Presidency

  • Compliments the audience,
  • Ice breaker,
  • Associates with the people.
  • He did stutter and repeat his words a considerable few times.

Amy Childs – Essex Star

  • Showed personality.
  • Hand gestures.
  • Made eye contact with the audience.
  • Informal.
  • However, grating accent.
  • Not clear.
  • Felt uncomfortable.
  • Too many fill ins, said like 17 times.
  • Distanced herself.

George W Bush Junior – The King of Innuendos and Speech Mishaps

  • Lack of confidence.
  • Forgetting his speech,
  • King of speech mishaps and innuendos.
  • Bumbling.
  • However, he came back from his mistakes from adding a sense of humour to it.

The Queen – The Queen Speech

  • Read continuously from the sheet.
  • No eye contact.
  • No passion in what she is reading, reading simply the words from the government.
  • Very formal.

We spent the last 10 minutes, seeing Rebecca Baker individually, going through our proposals. When it was my turn, I presented Rebecca a hard copy of my proposal as well as the review on Kamal’s speech, from our introductory workshop on the Friday 10th March. I discussed my ideas with her, talking about the swatch book I intend to produce, as well as ideas spurred off the Design to Sell project I completed previously. My ideas had a good reception and shall hear soon from Rebecca about her review of my proposal by email.

Leave a Reply

