Moodboards

William Morris

I created a mood board of my favourite William Morris wallpaper designs, as a concept of inspiration on floral pattern design. My project brief is to design wallpapers that combine nature, maths and pattern together. Pattern is easily covered, by repeating particular shapes. These shapes will be associated with nature, covering the nature concept of my project, e.g. leaf patterns, flowers etc. Maths is the difficult one, which can be negotiated through repeating the shapes in accordance to symmetry and with help from the golden ratio. William Morris’s wallpapers are very intricate and perhaps can be seen by others as a bit busy, however, the processes in how he creates the work is important, with the use of calved wood plates in a printing press. I could potential achieve detailed patterns through lino printing, using the Columbian printing press in PCA’s main building. Morris’s designs are beautiful, however, I need to make them more contemporary, reducing quantity of floral to simpler patterns.

William Morris Moodboard

Gustav Klimt

Gustav Klimt’s work is very oriental, with beautiful murals of women, with elements of gold within the work. I created a mood board of his work, looking at the patterns within his murals, especially “The Tree of Life”. The swirls in the branches of the tree of life could potentially work well on a wallpaper, as it looks very elegant and shows a more abstract form of nature. These patterns can be simplified down to just the branches of the tree of life, and perhaps silhouettes of birds, keeping the wallpaper more contemporary. There are certainly elements that can be taken from his work, including simple shapes that often make up the background.

Gustav Klimt Moodboard

Fred Tomaselli

Fred Tomaselli’s work blew me away the first time I looked at in in my artist research, because of the crazy patterns, lucid colours and subject matter within his paintings. His painting definitely have a psychedelic essence, with elements of the painting reminding me of bright colours within a brain scan, the kinetic activity that goes through the brain. What got my attention was the incorporation of mandala like patterns within some of his paintings, which look very beautiful and in some ways reminds me of the burst of fireworks against the night sky. These kind of patterns could potentially work out well on wallpaper, mixed in with other patterns. Another observation is that some pattern layering looks similar to magnetic field around the focal point within the painting. These are all interesting elements to take on board, to experiment with in my own interior wallpaper designs.

Fred Tomasselli Moodboard

Yayoi Kasuma

Yayoi Kasuma is one of my favourite pattern artists, because of the way she uses lots of small geometric shapes to create vibrant images of her subject matter, including mushrooms, pumpkins, shoes and flowers. This is a style that I can create by hand, which can be edited and coloured on my computer, exploring creating repeat pattern both within the subject matter and background of the wallpaper itself. Some of her work uses only two colours, for instance black and orange, like in her pumpkin painting in my mood board. The use of a minimal colour palette can have many benefits, especially when it comes to using a printing press or silk screen, as it simplifies the process and reduces the time required to produce each work, cutting out unnecessary preparation, without jeopardising quality. Also, a limited colour palette can make the work more bold, depending upon the colours you use, as too many colours can sometimes be distracting. Overall, her work is very funky and a great example of the use of geometry, especially her famous use of polka dots within her work, creating many beautiful colourful abstracts of the way she perceives the world.

Yayoi Kasuma Moodboard

Victor Vasarely

Victor Vasarely is one of my favourite artists of all time, because of his genius optical illusions in his abstract paintings. His use of colour and shading works a treat, creating images that appear to intrude and extrude from the canvas. His work is cleverly crafted using both his knowledge of maths and science, including the use of magnetic fields as basis bending the lines to create appearance of a shape sinking/bulging. Compiling this mood board of Victor Vasarely’s work will enable me to study the images, to work out ways of achieving similar effects through the use of maths in my pattern designs, to meet my brief, “Connecting with Maths, Nature and Pattern” effectively. His use of perspective, colour and toning is very inspirational and will be of great help to create wallpaper designs that have the illusion of three dimensional form.

Victor Vassarely Moodboard

Sarah Morris

I created a mood board of Sarah Morris’s work, because of her creative use of plane and perspective, as well as the concept of geometric abstractionism. This gives me a different perspective of abstract art, viewing the world as a series of geometric shapes. I personally like the bold use of colour, curves and variation in thickness of line. She picks colours and shapes that in her eyes represent her subject matter. In my case, with the emphasis of my project being on nature, I would look at a colour palette of natural/neutral colours, like greens, browns, creams and shades of beige. I would look at naturals curves, such as the curves of leaves as well as the trees and its branches. Furthermore, this mood board can help, demonstrating how to work with plane and perspective.

Sarah Morris Moodboard

M.C.Escher

M.C Escher is the master of repeat pattern, with his clever tessellations, including “Metamorphosis 1 and 2”. What amazes me is the way he morphs one subject into the other, without gaps, linking together like a puzzle. I compiled a mood board of his images to provide me not only inspiration, but an insight into how to create successful repeat patterns, as well as show me ways on how to morph my repeat patterns to different shapes, without gaps. This mood board gives me scope to create repeat patterns or in other words “Tessellations”, using nature as my subject matter as well as simplifying my design to more basic shapes and silhouettes, to ensure my wallpaper is more contemporary.

M C Escher Moodboard

Cath Kidston

Cath Kidston is a contemporary designer, showing a modern take on floral pattern design, which in fact is far simpler and not as busy, as the William Morris floral wallpapers of the Victorian era. The mood board was compiled to get inspiration in ways of making floral wallpapers more trendy and up to date. William Morris designs were important to me, when it came to intricacy, however, when it comes down to the quantity of flora in a design, Cath Kidston work demonstrates in this case “less is more”.

Cath Kidston Moodboard

Nudie Suit

The Nudie Suit was something I never really heard, until my tutor made me aware of it and suggested for me to look it up. Although it was not to do with interior wallpaper design, there were still possibilities in using them as inspiration, because of the beautiful customary designs embroidered into them. The suits looked quite fancy and decorative with the rhinestones and embellishment. A mood board was made consisting of these “Nudie Suits” to simply take inspiration from the patterns, thinking of ways these patterns can be turned into trendy wallpapers. On the other hand, I was considering maybe in the future, of turning my designs into textile fabrics for suits as well as dresses. Because of the lucid style and boldness of my patterns, the clothes could look rather bright and eye catching, which would be ideal for fancy nights out.

Nudie Suit Moodboard

Contemporary Interior Design

I have looked in magazines like Home and Design as well as images online, to get know what is now fashionable in the interior design world. I found lately that it mainly consists of walls painted in neutral colours with rather slick furniture. However, I found that it is currently trendy to have the facing wall covered in a simple wallpaper of a neutral colour scheme. The other walls are painted in a neutral colour that fits with the colour of the wallpaper. In this mood board, I wanted to look at contemporary wallpapers in situ, to help me to visualise my wallpaper designs in situ. Furthermore, I can study the style of the wallpapers in comparison to their surroundings and get an idea on the direction I need to take my own wallpaper designs.

Contemporary Interior Design Moodboard

Contemporary Wallpaper Design

In this mood board, I focused specifically on contemporary wallpaper design, gathering wallpaper samples online, to see in detail the kind of patterns and colour schemes that are in fashion now. I can clearly see that there is a neutral colour palette with simple pattern design. The natured inspired wallpapers now, show more of silhouette of naturals forms, like trees and birds, compared to William Morris’s time, where the wallpapers appear like beautiful detailed paintings of flora around the room. The neutral colour schemes would fit perfect within my nature theme, as these are the kind of colour schemes I intend to use in my own designs. I can create floral wallpapers, but simplify the designs to the basic components and colours. This mood board will be my main inspiration that I will be working from, as I need to make sure that my designs are fashionable. However, I will be taking on board aspects of the different artist styles, picking out the best elements to craft my own designs.

Contemporary Wallpaper Design Moodboard

Natural Interior Photo Wallpapers

I decided to have a look at a different concept of wallpaper design, looking at photo wallpapers to give the room an illusion of being in a different place or making the room seem infinite in size. Wallpapers of natural scenes like a forest or a beautiful sandy beach, brings that element of nature into the room, making you feel that you are there, in that place. This could have benefits, for instance having a wallpaper of your dream location or view, as you kind of feel that you are in that place and therefore creates this feeling of happiness. As a budding photographer, this would be a great opportunity to try out in the future, taking my own photos of nature for a wallpaper. For this project, I have to create my own pattern design, so photos of nature would not fit in with repeat pattern. However, these pictures of nature can provide a source of inspiration for creating the organic shapes itself for the patterns of the wallpaper.

Natural Photo Interior Wallpapers Moodboard

Leave a Reply

